Hera’s MDT – Day 25: Sharing a time when Hera helped me

Χαίρετε πάντες!

Today is a rather difficult topic. I am supposed to share a time when Hera has helped me, yet I never had much of a relationship with her in the past, or really requested anything specific when praying to her. So, I don’t have an occasion to tell about, when Hera helped me (that I know of, perhaps she helped me beyond me knowing it). So instead I’ll just share the Orphic Hymn to Hera today.

In original Hellenic:

Κυανέοις κόλποισιν ἐνημένη, ἠερόμορφε,
Ἥρη παμβασίλεια, Διὸς σύλλεκτρε μάκαιρα,
ψυχοτρόφους αὔρας θνητοῖς παρέχουσα προσηνεῖς,
ὄμβρων μὲν μήτηρ, ἀνέμων τροφέ, παντογένεθλε.
χωρὶς γὰρ σέθεν οὐδὲν ὅλως ζωῆς φύσιν ἔγνω
κοινωνεῖς γὰρ ἅπασι κεκραμένη ἠέρι σεμνῷ
πάντων γὰρ κρατέεις μούνη πάντεσσί τ’ ἀνάσσεις
ἠερίοις ῥοίζοισι τινασσομένη κατὰ χεῦμα.
ἀλλά, μάκαιρα θεά, πολυώνυμε, παμβασίλεια,
ἔλθοις εὐμενέουσα καλῷ γήθοντι προσώπῳ.

And in the poetic translation by Thomas Taylor (which I use because there’s no copyright on it):

“O royal Hera, of majestic mien,
aerial-formed, divine, Zeus’ blessed queen,
throned in the bosom of cerulean air,
the race of mortals is thy constant care.
The cooling gales they power alone inspires,
which nourish life, which every life desires.
Mother of showers and winds, from thee alone,
producing all things, mortal life is known:
all natures share thy temperament divine,
and universal sway alone is thine,
with sounding blasts of wind, the swelling sea
and rolling rivers roar when shook by thee.
Come, blessed Goddess, famed almighty queen,
with aspect kind, rejoicing and serene.”

While in general, I prefer the more accurate translations by Athanassakis, looking at it now I do kind of see the appeal of this poetic translation. And in ritual I am sure the poetic one might be more evocative then the more literal translation. But anyways… hope you enjoyed this hymn.

Ἔρρωσο.

One comment on “Hera’s MDT – Day 25: Sharing a time when Hera helped me

Leave a Reply

