Hera’s MDT – Day 26: Sharing a time when Hera did not help me

Χαίρετε πάντες!

Following up on yesterday’s topic, I should now share a time when Hera did not help when I prayed for her intervention. But, for the same reason as yesterday, I am unable to do so. So, like yesterday, I’ll share hymn dedicated to Hera today. This time the Homeric one.

First in the original Hellenic:

Ἥρην ἀείδω χρυσόθρονον, ἣν τέκε Ῥείη,
ἀθανάτων βασίλειαν, ὑπείροχον εἶδος ἔχουσαν,
Ζηνὸς ἐριγδούποιο κασιγνήτην ἄλοχόν τε,
κυδρήν, ἣν πάντες μάκαρες κατὰ μακρὸν Ὄλυμπον
ἁζόμενοι τίουσιν ὁμῶς Διὶ τερπικεραύνῳ.

And now the no-longer copyright-protected translation by Hugh G. Evelyn-White:

I sing of golden-throned Hera whom Rhea bare.
Queen of the immortals is she, surpassing all in beauty:
she is the sister and the wife of loud-thundering Zeus, —
the glorious one whom all the blessed throughout high Olympus
reverence and honor even as Zeus who delights in thunder.

Again, I hope you enjoyed this hymn.

Ἔρρωσο.

One comment on “Hera’s MDT – Day 26: Sharing a time when Hera did not help me

Leave a Reply

