Hephaistos’ MDT – Day 27: How has my relationship with Hephaistos changed over time?

Χαίρετε ἀναγνώστες!

Today I will discuss how my relationship with Hephaistos has changed over time. I’m sure you couldn’t have guessed from the title of this post.

Hephaistos has not really been on my radar all that much in the past. As I said in previous posts it didn’t get beyond the occasional honouring individually and the inclusion when I make offerings “to All the Gods”. This month is probably the most consecutive time I have spent thinking about this God and engaging with him.

I would think this has improved my relationship somewhat, but I don’t feel all that much difference with before. Despite this month long engaging with him and contemplating him, I still find it difficult to connect with him personally. While I might prefer it to be different, this is also fine. One can not have a very deep relationship with every God and Goddess out there. This is impossible.

Manufacturing, smithing, industry; these are not things I am very much interested in, and neither am I disabled – physically or mentally. The closest I have been to that is suffering from depression, and I consider mental health issues to be perhaps more related to Athena Hygieia, or Dionysos even.In any case, while industry and technology are so vital to our modern society, perhaps more so than it has ever been in human history (just imagine if suddenly electricity stopped working… yeah, we’d be fucked), these are area’s I have no personal interest in. My interests have always lain with literature, human sciences, history, archaeology, anthropology, languages… the domains of Athena, Hermes, and other Gods and Goddesses to do with intellectual pursuits.

In any case, while industry and technology are so vital to our modern society, perhaps more so than it has ever been in human history (just imagine if suddenly electricity stopped working… yeah, we’d be fucked), these are area’s I have no personal interest in. My interests have always lain with literature, human sciences, history, archaeology, anthropology, languages… the domains of Athena, Hermes, and other Gods and Goddesses to do with intellectual pursuits. I always had it easier connecting to those Deities. And this is fine, we are all individuals with our own strengths, weaknesses, interests; and through them do we relate to various Deities to various degrees.

So, although my relationship with Hephaistos has not changed a great deal, I have learned more about him. That, too, is change.

That’s all for today.

Ἔρρωσο.

Leave a Reply

