Poseidon’s MDT – Day 2: How I first became aware of Poseidon

Χαίρετε ἀναγνώστες!

This post is basically going to be the same as with my previous MDT’s. I have had an interest in antiquity since I was a little boy. As a voracious reader, I read a lot about Hellenic and Roman myths, I studied Latin in high school (and one year of Ancient Hellenic, as it was only taught for one year), and studied archaeology with a keen interest in antiquity as well at university.

This, unfortunately, means I can’t really pinpoint when I first became aware of Poseidon, as that knowledge is lost in the mists of time. Since he is such a major God I would assume that it was fairly early when I read about Hellenic myths that I encountered Poseidon in these tales.

Nevertheless, while I knew of his Khthonic earthshaking connections, he was usually, in my mind, THE God of the Sea. Conflating his rule over the Sea with him BEING the Sea, which is not the case – as I only fully realised after I became a Hellenic polytheist, which was in 2010. Over the course of my Hellenic polytheist-ness I also learned of the full range of his Khthonic associations, as he is a God who rules over ALL water, including fresh water, and is the God who allows the rain to permeate into the soil to nourish plant life – and thus crops, making him an agricultural deity as well. Even domestic associations I discovered in the forms of Phratrios, a patron of phratry associations, and a protector of foundations and walls.

However, I have not really ever been “in touch” with Poseidon much, beyond generally honouring him from time to time. This could be because I was not aware of the full range of his domains and felt his marine and tectonic domains was largely irrelevant to me in daily life, as I do not live near the sea, nor do I live in an earthquake prone area. Also, it just never fully *clicked* with him, which is pretty normal. Everyone has Deities they don’t *click* with, even if one may really want to for one reason or another. Perhaps over the course of this month, I will become aware of Poseidon in a truly experiential way, not just from general worship.

I think I’ll leave it at that.

Ἔρρωσο.

One comment on “Poseidon’s MDT – Day 2: How I first became aware of Poseidon

  1. […] I just never really seen Him as an Agricultural Deity before.  Then I came across this blog post and decided that yeah, Poseidon could absolutely be included.  For me, He is the rain (Zeus is the […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

